Houston Book Event Round-Up – Fall 2015

autumn-1399396I’m going crazy again, so it must be fall. Most of my book events seem to happen within a few weeks of each other in autumn, and this year is no exception. If you’re a Greater Houston Area writer, think about coming to one of these activities:

September 25 & 26: Houston Writers Guild’s Indiepalooza. If you’re going to sign up, I would do it yesterday. http://www.houstonwritersguild.org/indiepalooza-event/ I’ll be speaking during the first break-out on Adding Art to Your Words. I’ll be discussing the ins and outs of working with Kindle Kids Book Creator and some unique ways to breathe life into your indie books with illustrations. For artists and non-artists alike. Promise. If you want to read a longer post about Indiepalooza and see their schedule, click over to my Space City Scribes post.

October 6: America Root Reading Series @ Houston Community College West Loop Campus. I’m a board member for American Root. It’s a great non-profit dedicated to bringing high-quality poets and essayists to community college students. This fall, we’ve got Curtis Crisler, Elena Lelia Radulescu, and Bryan Owens. They’ll be reading selected works from their poetry. I’m very excited to help host this event. Read more about it here.

October 24: Celebrate Local Authors @ Maud Marks Public Library. And last but not least, I’ll be reading from and selling my new Cattarina Mysteries Omnibus. Over 30 local authors will be in attendance, and they’ll be reading and selling as well. Most genres will be represented, including children’s, middle grade, YA, mystery, sci-fi and fantasy, romance, western, and more. Come out and meet your local authors! All treats, no tricks. Kids can come in costume and many people will be handing out candy. Read more about it here.

In addition to this, I’m trying to organize a social media drive. I’ll be giving away a cute Poe downloadable in exchange for more likes, follows, and sign-ups. Stay tuned for more info…

So much to do, so little time. Still, I need to slow down and enjoy the first day of autumn. It only comes once a year. For me, it’s a gentle reminder that even though my schedule is swerving off-road, forces larger than my self have everything under control. That’s a comforting thought indeed.

2 thoughts on “Houston Book Event Round-Up – Fall 2015

Leave a Reply

