It’s Not Christmas Without Books

The thrill of the ebook load, the delightful crack of a book’s spine, the comfort in knowing your winter nights will be filled for days or weeks to come…is there anything better than getting a book for the holidays?

Yes, giving them.

In honor of this, I’ve repurposed Clement C. Moore’s famous poem, “A Visit From St. Nicholas,” for book lovers:

Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the house
Not a reader was stirring, not even a mouse;
The iPads were set by the chimney with care,
In hopes that St. Nicholas soon would tap there;
The children were nestled all snug in their beds;
While visions of downloads danced in their heads;
And mom with her Kindle, and I with my Nook,
Had just settled in to read a good book,
When out on the lawn there arose such a clatter,
I tossed my ereader to see what was the matter.
Away to the window I flew like a flash,
Tore open the shutters and threw up the sash.
The moon on the breast of the new-fallen snow,
Gave a no-glare backlight to objects below,
When what to my wondering eyes did appear,
But a miniature sleigh and eight tiny rein-deer,
With a little old driver so lively and quick,
I knew in a moment he must be St. Nick.
More rapid than 1-Click his coursers they came,
And he whistled, and shouted, and called them by name:
“Now, Dasher! now, Dancer! now Prancer and Vixen!
On, Comet! on, Cupid! on, Donder and Blixen!
To the top of the porch! to the top of the wall!
Now dash away! dash away! dash away all!”
As tomes in a frenzied Black Friday Sale fly,
When they meet with a markdown and customers buy;
So up to the housetop the coursers they flew
With the sleigh full of books, and St. Nicholas too—
And then, in a twinkling, I heard on the roof
The prancing and pawing of each little hoof.
As I picked up my Nook, and was turning around,
Down the chimney St. Nicholas came with a bound.
He was dressed all in fur, it could’ve been mink,
And his boots were as black as the darkest e-ink;
A bundle of bestsellers he had flung on his back,
And he looked like an author just opening his pack.
His eyes—how they twinkled! his dimples, how merry!
His cheeks were like roses, his nose like a cherry!
The hair on his head had receded with age,
But the beard on his chin was as white as a page;
The crease in his forehead gave me this thought:
He’d pondered and read all the books that he’d brought;
He had a broad face and a little round belly
That shook when he laughed, like a bowl full of jelly.
He was chubby and plump, a right jolly old elf,
And I laughed when I saw him, in spite of myself;
The novels he left with a measure of cheer
Soon gave me to know I had nothing to fear;
He spoke not a word, but went straight to his work,
And filled my kids’ iPads like a B&N clerk,
After swiping his finger across all our screens,
He rose up the chimney without any means;
He sprang to his sleigh, to his team gave a whistle,
And away they all flew like the down of a thistle.
But I heard him exclaim, ere he drove out of sight—
“Happy Bookmas to all, and to all a good night!”

In the spirit of Christmas, I’d like to showcase books from my indie/small press author friends in the hopes that you’ll spread holiday cheer farther and wider. The first three are ebooks and will download in a twinkling. The last is a hardcover, but worth the wait.

Happy Bookmas to all, and to all a good night!

kc

mandy

alicia

ellen

Leave a Reply

